Molly’s first day at pre-school

26 Apr

Molly is now officially a pre schooler.  On Tuesday she had her first morning at her new nursery which is attached to the school we then hope she will then go on to attend.  I wrote a few weeks ago about her induction, that day itself was emotional enough, but dropping her off on Tuesday really broke my heart.

She woke up excited about going, I was super organised and had everything ready the night before so we could just get up and go.  Getting anywhere on time since having the kids is not my strongest point, but I was determined she was not going to be late, well at least not on her first day!

She looked adorable in her uniform, so grown up and I felt so proud of her.

In all my determination to be on time, we ended up arriving 25 minutes early, I was so paranoid about getting stuck in traffic that we left so early that the journey took no time at all, there was not one single bit of traffic or one red light to hold us up on our way, so at 8.20 we were sat up the road from the school waiting……

I was so relieved when my friend arrived, her little girl is in the reception class at the same school so we walked along with them into the playground. It wasn’t till we got into the classroom and I came to leave her that I felt emotional.  She was being shown her peg to hang her coat on, she looked so tiny compared to everyone else then as I turned to walk away, I saw Molly’s lip quiver, just a little.  She didn’t actually cry, but it was enough to set me off.  So there I was walking out of the playground in tears. Thankfully another friend pulled up as we were leaving, whisked me off to Play group and filled me with coffee to keep my mind occupied!  Even being out didn’t stop it from being the longest morning of my life. I swear 3 hours felt like three weeks, I have never clock watched so much in my life.

When it was finally time to go and get her we wandered back down to the school, by this time my Husband had joined me and we went together to collect her.  I am sure they kept us waiting an extra long time before they let them out, I felt like I was in that playground for a lifetime.  Finally she came bounding out from the classroom and instantly wanted to carry on playing!

She loved it and can’t wait to go back next week.  I had really doubted my decision to send her to pre school, we had always said that we wait till she was older, she is not even three and a half yet and it seems so soon for her to be going to school.  But she was so settled, so happy after her first day I am sure we made the right decision,  the teachers said it was like she had always been there and she had settled really well.  We took her out for lunch to celebrate and she was happily telling us everything that she did, and hasn’t stopped talking about school since.

Things feel very different here at the moment.  Molly is now at school two mornings a week and both her and Alfie are with the Childminder for two days as well.  The house is very quiet without them which makes me feel sad. I guess I should enjoy the time to myself and get on with loads of work whilst I have the peace and quiet, but this week I have struggled to concentrate on anything. I feel like they are growing up too fast.  I never thought I would say it, but roll on the summer holidays!

Here she is all ready for her first day!

2 Responses to “Molly’s first day at pre-school”

  1. farfromhomemama April 26, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Ahhh, you poor thing. Such an exciting milestone but also tinged with sadness. Hope the emptiness goes away soon and you can fill your day with new fun things.

  2. Anna October 15, 2012 at 1:38 am #

    Wow! Molly is such a cutie! Thanks for sharing this to us. Keep posting!

Leave a Reply

