Potty Training – our final update

3 Apr

I can’t believe this is the last blog I will do about Potty training for Molly!  She is finally going though the night with no Pull Ups!

I kept thinking it was just a fluke, there have been a few times since last summer that we have had periods where she has gone for a few days and her Pull ups have been dry, but as soon as I took the Pull Ups off her she would be soaking wet again.  I didn’t want to push her, I knew she would do it in her own time, it was just a matter of waiting.

Just after her birthday in January I noticed her Pull Ups were more often than not dry each morning.  When I asked Molly if she wanted to go without them, she became really upset.  So I left it a few days and tried again.  It was around the same time we visited pre-school for the first time. Molly was excited that she was going to be a ‘big girl’ and go to pre-school, so when I mentioned that big girls didn’t wear Pull Ups to bed, there was no going back!  So since the end of January we have been Pull Up free.

We have had a couple of accidents, mainly if she over sleeps in the morning.  I have noticed that she now wakes much earlier, she never used to get up much before 8, but now 7am is a lay in for us.  She has a wee last thing before bed time and then sleeps right through until morning.  To be honest I am not too worried about her waking earlier, the lay in was nice but not practical when you have two kids to get ready and out of the door for 8.30am 4 mornings a week!  So it was kind of a blessing in disguise really.

All in all potty training has not been the scary process that I thought it was going to be.  Molly has taken to it so well, which I put down to the fact that we waited till she was really ready before we started. The advice and help we have had from Huggies has been amazing, the website http://www.pottytraining.co.uk has all the information that you need to help you and I have always referred to this if we have encountered any problems along the way.

My baby girl is no longer a baby, she gets more and more like a little girl every day.  I won’t be able to relax for long though, Alfie already sits on the Pourty Potty in the bathroom whenever Molly goes to the toilet so it won’t be long before I am starting the whole process again…………..

2 Responses to “Potty Training – our final update”

  1. farfromhomemama April 4, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    Oh wow! Well done you and well done Molly. Hope you get a breather before the next round starts.

  2. Gwen Paltrow April 9, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    Congra tulations, Molly! I remember the last diaper too. A book that really helped me about night-time potty training was Potty Train Your Child in Just ONE Day by Teri Crane, I also like her bootcamps on Nickelodeon. Anyway, all the best!

Leave a Reply

