The visit from the Dummy Fairy

27 Dec

I feel I have been very neglectful of my little blog the last couple of weeks.  The uncertainty over Paul’s job combined with the run up to Christmas I simply have not had the time or the energy to blog.  But Christmas is done for another year, the run up to the New Year begins, I have some much-needed time off work so here I am, time to catch up.

I blogged a little while ago about the Dummy Fairy paying Molly a visit.  After a nightmare getting hold of the promised Peppa Pig trainers I gave up (Santa seemed to have more luck and some arrived for her Christmas morning – they are of course the best trainers in the world and Molly refuses to take them off!).  Molly had been asking for a Pink Dog for Christmas from Santa, I had bought her present way back in November and it was definitely not a pink dog. So one pink dog purchased and we were ready to go!

We were visiting Molly’s Grandparents the day we had planned to remove the dummy, Molly told them that the Dummy Fairy was coming and her and Grampy sat and wrote a letter so the fairy knew to take her sleepy dummies to another little girl.  She seemed very positive about the whole thing and when bed time came she happily put her sleepy dummies in the bag with her letter and hung them on the door so the fairies could find them easily.

I was amazed at how well she went to bed, no tears no upset no nothing.  Amazing! 🙂

When she got up the next morning she went straight to see if the Dummy Fairy had been.  Molly was one very happy lil lady when she opened her present to find her very own toy Dog complete with a flashing pink lead!  Molly looked in the bag for her beloved dummies which of course were gone; she didn’t seem to mind, she kept telling us she was a big girl now!

We have had a couple of unsettled nights since and Molly has asked for her dummy on a couple of occasions but on the whole she doesn’t seem to have missed it nearly as much as I thought she would!

It has always been easier to let her have her dummy at bed time, Molly was never a good sleeper as a baby, and the dummy was the one thing that seemed to work with her, and I guess once you got something that makes them sleep you just stick with it, we all need sleep right?

I was really dreading the whole process and have put it off so many times in the past always having an excuse as to why she had to have her dummy, I do feel like a weight has been lifted now she is going without it! All in all it’s been a big success, I am very sure I will be taking Alfie’s dummy away a lot sooner than I did his sisters!

Leave a Reply

