A visit from the Dummy Fairy

16 Nov

Well it has got to happen sometime, and I have decided NOW is the time, for the dreaded (by Molly) Dummy Fairy.  She will be three in January and although she only has it at bed time, it really does need to go.

If I am honest I should have done it a long time ago, but as time has gone on, it is easier for her to have it than not have it I guess.  I have always found an excuse, first it was teething, then I was pregnant and didn’t want too many changes for her, then it was Alfies not sleeping well and I don’t want to be up with both of them, or potty training….I have spent the last six months saying I can’t possibly take her Dummy away whilst I am potty training – I mean how long does your child have to be dry for before you are no longer potty training them?!! I really do make some rubbish excuses don’t I?!

So my plan is – I like to have a plan and now it is in writing on my Blog I will have to stick to it too……

Molly is in Love with Peppa Pig, she also needs some new trainers…..she has fallen head over heels in love with some Peppa Pig Trainers from Next so I have formed a cunning plan…………..

1st stage of the plan involves Next having the trainers I want, then I need to get them and hide them away.

Then next Thursday (yes I am giving myself a whole week to plan and prepare for this!!) I am going to spend some time decorating an envelope with Molly and then at bed time she can put her dummies in the envelope and we can post them to the fairy.  Then in the morning, she will find at the end of her bed, her lovely Peppa Pig Trainers with a letter from the Dummy fairy saying what a good girl she is for going without her Dummy all night!!

Of course I will be waking up next Friday all refreshed after a great nights sleep where she has slept right through with no dummy?? Right? Ha ha!! As if it is going to be THAT easy?!

Well that is the plan, we shall see how it actually pans out next week.  She is obsessed with her Dummy, it is the first thing she asks for as soon as she has her Pyjamas on and I really think it is going to be a hard habit to break.  I am cross with myself that I have let her have it for so long but then I do wonder is it really that bad?? I don’t know.

Anyone have any experience of this? Is it going to be as bad as I think it is? Am I a terrible Mummy for even thinking of taking it away yet?

I do know that with Alfie, I will be aiming to get rid of his Dummy as soon as I can, I don’t want to be in the same situation with him in 2 years time!!

9 Responses to “A visit from the Dummy Fairy”

  1. melissa November 16, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I put off getting rid of my daughters dummy for many of the same reasons as you, we were on holiday and in a strange place so thought I would wait till we got home, then she got ill and I couldn’t possibly be that cruel and take it away while she was poorly, everytime I thought, right that’s it, this week is THE week, something would crop up and I would put it off. In the end we settled for a tick chart. It was just drawn out on a little white board stuck to the fridge and each morning after she had done a full night without the dummy she got to put a tick in the box, at the end of the week if she had 7 ticks she got a little treat (nothing massive just little things like a colouring book, nothing cost us more than £2.50) she loved putting the ticks in the boxes and if I remember rightly it only took 3-4 weeks till she was going all night every night without it. I never made a big thing out of it, and if there was a night where she wanted her dummy I would explain that it would mean no treat at the end of the week but if she insisted she had the dummy, some would say I should have just put my foot down and said no but I couldn’t deal with the tantrums, we didn’t have a single tantrum while doing it this way. She was about 3 at the time and when we moved a few months later she found a dummy in the cupboard but just said, ‘mummy why have we still got this? Its for babies!’ Good luck with however you decide to go about it, the only thing I would say is, don’t let it become a big deal. You never know she might love her trainers that much that she never looks back. Please keep us posted with how it goes.xx

  2. Expat Mammy November 16, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    oh no i’m dreading the dummy fairy coming!!

  3. RillyRoo November 16, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    Santa is coming this year for 3, yes one, two, three of mine with dummys. My 6 year old has Downs Syndrome and she still has one at night, my not long turned 4 year old still has hers at bedtime, and my 2 year old whom I wish to avoid the long term dummy use like his sisters.

    We are going to put out Santas drink,, sprinkle reindeer food, place out a carrot, mince pies and all the dummies. Hopefully Santa will turn them into something special and grown up for them…

    I did it with my 2 eldest the same way, it worked for them…

    Good luck 😉

  4. hannah November 16, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    My daughter was 3 when she gave up her dummy! I dont care what anyone thinks about that, it got to the point where i thought her teeth are gonna have trouble if i dont sort this out, and she was ready for the fairy. Now our fairy took the dummies from the door in a pretty bag to clean them up and pass them on to other babies who are not very well and need them to help them sleep..simply beacuse there were a lot of GOSH adverts on tv at this time and she was really interested in them and asked questions about them, she was very caring and was wonderful that she felt she was really giving her beloved dummies up for other babies! Hey it worked, she asked a few times for one but a little reminder of where the fairy had taken them and she was very pleased!
    Dont think think this will work with my Alfie!! But he has it a lot less than she did anyway xx
    Oh ps Goodluck!

  5. Karen November 16, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    I think your plan is perfect! I did exactly the same thing with my now 5yr old. He was almost 3 and I had used the same excuses, new baby, toilet training etc. We used the dummy fairy trick and I went to the local pound shop and bought several little gifts that I wrapped up and put in a bag. When he went to bed the first night he was quite upset that he didn’t have a dummy (but he still had his blankie) but soon went to sleep. He was thrilled with his presents the following morning and went to bed relatively easily that night. However he did wake a couple of times during the night and was really angry that he didn’t have a dummy to go with his blankies. This only happened for 2 nights and he was fine after that.
    I am about to do the same thing again with my youngest who turns 3 tomorrow. He only has his dummy at bedtime but still has his blankies for comfort so very soon the dummy fairy will be visiting our house too.
    My only advice is to stay firm and resolute and remind her what a big girl she is. Any upset will pass very quickly. Just make sure you get some sleep in preparation for a couple of nights broken sleep! Good Luck x

  6. Managing Mayhem November 16, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Oooh I will be be watching out for updates how you get on. My little one is 18months and I have tried to take it but I gave in because I feared I might be mentally scaring her – She really is quite attached. Please update us on how it all goes for you! I am thinking of doing something like this at about 2 when she has a better understanding and reasoning skills.

    P.S. I have awarded you the Liebster Blog award – http://managingthemayhem.blogspot.com/2011/11/liebster-award.html

  7. Laura November 16, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    The dummy fairy visited our house when my little girl was two and a half. She only had her dummy at night but started wanting it more after her little brother arrived. I think it was also stopping her from speaking properly.

    We spent a few days talking about the fairy snd how she would leave s thank you

    • Laura November 16, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

      Sorry, my phone submitted my comment too soon! I meant to say that we told our little girl about how she would get a thank you gift. The key thing for was when Sophia agreed to it. She willingly put her dummy in a bag for the fairy and lo and behold, got a pressie the next day. We did experience two completely sleepless nights but she was fine after that snd has been ever since

  8. angelsandurchinsblog November 16, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    It so works, the dummy fairy! Friends have used the lure of Lelli Kelly (is that how you spell them?) shoes, box of Lego and a cinema trip, and it’s taken barely a night to reel them in. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

