Dear Grandma,

14 Nov

Dear Grandma,

This time last year Alfie was due!! I know you were so desperate for him to come on his due day, meaning that you would have shared the same birthday.  But you know how I love to over cook things, and it just was not meant to be!!  I can’t believe it has been a year, I never imagined that you would not be here to celebrate another birthday.

There is so much I want to tell you, so much has happened, Alfie is changing every day, just this weekend he has really started taking lots, I am sure this morning he tried to say Grandma when I told them they were going to my Mums for tea.  He is a little stunner as well he so cute! Walking everywhere now! We have got his first pair of shoes for him today, and Molly is just so grown up, I can’t believe she is nearly three!! Where does the time go??

We made your Christmas cake last week, Molly loved it, we had so much fun! Although I am pretty sure Molly and Alfie ate their body weight in raisins! Little monkeys! Molly loves cooking, and is such a great little helper in the kitchen!!  I remember speaking to you on the phone and you gave me the recipe for your “Spice Cake” I have never got round to making it until now. The funny thing was throughout the whole conversation we had you kept getting my name wrong, you called me Elsie, and Ashleigh more times than you called me Sinead, but yet you could recall every ingredient of this cake recipe and all of the cooking instructions!!  I hope ours turns out ok, I have no chance of ever making one as nice as yours, but we have given it a go!! We had lots of fun making it and I guess that’s the main thing! I am going to have a go at icing it after I get Alfie’s birthday party over with.  I am making a cake for that too! You will be very impressed with me!! The plan is for it to be a 1 shaped cake…..we shall see!! I always remember cooking with you, especially helping you make Christmas cakes! You were a great cook, I still can’t quite get my Yorkshire Puddings to taste as good as yours but I am getting better every week!

We think of you every day, Molly still talks about you all the time, but she tells me that you can’t come back, she is very matter of fact about it which I guess is to be expected from a 2 year old, but it still breaks my heart when she asks about you in heaven.  I am so glad you got the time that you did with her and Alfie.

Happy Birthday,

We miss you every day.

All our love,

Sinead, Molly and Alfie xxxx

 

Me and my babies with their Great Grandma

6 Responses to “Dear Grandma,”

  1. melissa November 14, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Hello Sinead, just wanted to drop you a few lines. I’m a new follower to your blog but couldn’t just read and run. I have read a few of your posts but this 1 was so touching. I have a little girl who has just turned 4 and I dread the day my Nanna is no longer with us, having to break the news to my daughter will be one of the most difficult things I can imagine. This letter to your Grandma is so beautifully written, I have tears in my eyes!
    Looking forward to reading your future posts.
    Mel.x

  2. Elaine Livingstone November 14, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    I miss my gran (still). Grans are special people who have a large impact on subsequent generations, the best times of my childhood were spent with my paternal grandparents. Happy memories to you hun.

    • Elaine Livingstone November 14, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

      ps you one shaped cake is easy a rectangle cake, with a square cake cut diagonally and a piece added to the top

      • thesingingmummy November 14, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

        Its not just getting the shape right I am worried about, although i am not sure it will resemble much of a one shape but I will do my best, my cakes however are not great!! Cup cakes, I can do…bigger cakes just go flop 😦 I swear it’s my oven I can’t be that bad at it surely?!! X

  3. hannah November 14, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    What a lovely post x

Leave a Reply

