51 weeks……

8 Nov

I got an email of Bounty tonight………an update about my 51 week old.  51 weeks, gosh, that is like……nearly a whole year!!  I can’t believe it!!  It is making me feel all reflective and very emotional!!

My poor boy has been ill for the past few days bless him, he has had his first stomach upset so I have been rushing round cleaning up the sick from the various carpets he has puked on (one of which was not even mine…..and once again I am VERY sorry about that!!).  So it has been a tiring couple of days to say the least.  I am keeping fingers and toes crossed now that Molly doesn’t come down with it! Lil man thankfully seems to be on the mend although is still not eating…..well apart from yoghurts, but he even refused a chocolate biscuit tonight at tea time so I know he is still not right!!

To be honest I really have struggled with him.  He is usually such a happy little chap, so this is very out of character! He never really moans and the only time he cries is if he wants food and you don’t get it to him quick enough so the last few days I have found it tough dealing with crying very unsettled little boy.

Anyway, I digress……as usual!! I am planning the best party for a 1 year old since parties began, it is going to be perfect, in fact it has to be perfect, (no pressure on myself at all!!) I know that he won’t remember any of it and blah blah blah, but I just want it to be the best it can be for him!!  But Bounty, you were wrong……Alfie is 50 weeks old today………….PLEASE don’t make him older than he actually is, I can’t cope with the fact that he is nearly one and seeing it in writing just made it way to real!

My plan is over the next week or so before his birthday celebrations begin to write my birth story, I read a post over at Actually Mummy today about Birth Stories, so I am going to have a go at mine and link them up next week!!   I have never written a birth story for either of my babies, I did a post for Save the Children which did briefly explain my labour with Alfie but I really would like to document them properly.  Both of my labours have been traumatic, both have resulted in emergency c sections, so I have never written about them because I don’t like to think of them, I just focus on the lovely results!! I never thought I would get to a point where I could document them, but I am going to try!

So I have a plan…….I like a plan!!

Please stick with me people, I know that listening to me ramble on every single day is not what you signed up for, but I am determined to see the NaBloPoMo challenge through to the end.  I promise things will be back to normal in 22 days! I hope I am not driving you all insane just yet……

NaBloPoMo Post 8 22 to go! 🙂

5 Responses to “51 weeks……”

  1. actuallymummy November 8, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Super-excited about reading everyone’s birth stories! Good luck with it – looking forward to reading 🙂

  2. Karen November 8, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Yay, Go for it. I’m with you there, I’ve never documented either of my birth stories, and both were traumatic – though neither were C-Sections. If you do yours, I might be inspired to do mine!

    • thesingingmummy November 8, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

      I am planning to do one next week, and one the week after. Going to start with Molly’s for next Tuesday and then post Alfie’s for the Tuesday after, which is quite fitting as it will be his first birthday then! x

  3. RillyRoo November 9, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    Awwww Babies grow up too fast, I am starting to get broody again already and my youngest is only 5 months old.

    Writing a birth story can be quite healing for the traumatic ones. I hope when you do write it it will give you a little closure

  4. Mum2babyinsomniac November 9, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    Ahh my little girl was one last week and I spent the whole day nearly crying thinking back to how much had changed and how she wasn’t a baby anymore. Hopefully I don’t do that every year or she won’t be very impressed! It is so scary how quickly they grow up, she is my first so I am so excited about what is to come but it is still sad at what has passed in a flash x

Leave a Reply

