Why oh why am I so stubborn!!

2 Nov

So I admit I am quite stubborn (well ok VERY stubborn) when it comes to most things. I posted a couple of weeks ago about my lil man taking his first steps in this big wide world. I was so excited, so proud, so in awe of my little boy growing up into such a lovely little cheeky chap!!

HOW STUPID AM I?!!! Clearly I had totally forgotten the carnage that comes with moving babies. For months (since he was crawling) my fireplace has been barricaded so he can’t get to it (within a week of him crawling he had trashed two beautiful photo frames that my Mum got me for Christmas last year). I was gutted to say the least. But did I learn……NO of course I blinking didn’t! Yes I am one of those Mummys. The ones that dare to say I am not moving every ornament out of reach for them, they will simply have to learn! Errrr what was I thinking?? Saying I am stupid may be a bit harsh actually, I think I was just spoilt with Molly, she fiddled with everything in sight, everything that was there she wanted to touch and see what it was, but there was a BIG difference. When you said NO to her she listened!! Unlike her brother who is not content with just touching things, he likes to use everything like drum sticks (on my marble hearth). My lovely candle stick holders really were not made to be drum sticks and were certainly not made for throwing across my living room, and he totally ignores you when you say the word “no” to him!!

Since Monday night we have removed the barricade from the fireplace, (I foolishly though that he would have grown out of this by now….he is nearly one you know!!). He no longer goes in his Jumparoo, it is just simply getting in the way, so off it has gone to the tip garage. So of course he can now reach his beloved ornaments grrrrrr!! I have spent the best part of the last two days saying NO, and moving him away from the fireplace!! Extremely frustrating. However as I said at the beginning, I am stubborn, refuse to move anything and I am sure I will suffer for it!!

Bets are on now as to who will win……….me or my little man!! If he wins then every ornament in sight will be trashed by the weekend………..If I win then he will stay away from the fireplace and stop playing the drums with everything and become a perfect model baby. Of course I could not just do the obvious thing and move everything out of his way now could I??

Oh and a little NaBloPoMo update………….2 down 28 to go!! Whoop whoop! 🙂

5 Responses to “Why oh why am I so stubborn!!”

  1. Elsie November 2, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    Brings back memories of your brother(Alfie’s uncle Tom) Take it from mum love move the ornaments I speak from experience and a lack/loss of some very lovely things. Saying that i wouldn’t change or be without you and your brothers and my wonderful grandchildren. It is nice to have these ornaments but these are replaceble children and grandchildren are not. Love you all.

  2. Sarah Mac November 2, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Listen to your Mum is my advice 🙂

    I had two very different children and I refused to accept that the youngest would trash everything I owned if it wasn’t out of reach at that age.

    She would and she very nearly did!

    On the plus side, she did grow out of it eventually.

  3. Fiona Cooper (@nlpmum) November 2, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    I’m so glad my two are beyond all that – not to say they don’t regularly trash the place, but they’re at least less likely to put themselves in danger. I always found saying no was at least useless and at worst an incitement to said activity – distraction always worked way better….. say yes to something else…… get’s you out of the habit of saying No too. Oh, and do make sure the Jumparoo gets another life – give it to the Charity shop or Freecycle it – I’m sure it’s not jumped out 😉 – or keep it for the next one!

  4. actuallymummy November 2, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Me too! Loved that fireplace cage! I do try every now and then to remind myself that they don’t have to learn, I just have to wait until they get bored – and until then there is always the cage. For the fireplace, you understand, not the kids 😉

  5. Elaine Livingstone November 2, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I can see any battles of the wills coming up. Like you I moved nothing for No1 she understood no meant no, No2 was not too bad, never really moved about much due to a medical condition ( it has its uses) No 3 – he was just a law unto himself (and still is at 26 I may add) and never learnt what no meant!!
    Why I have no idea Im sure I still spoke the same language in the same tone of voice, moved him 600zillion times, but still the little darling persisted……thank goodness they all grown.
    Though must admit when we moved in here I popped my large candles onto my hearth and daughter said would need to move them as grandson would eat them as he did all hers, well he hasnt touch a one of them,,,so maybe play mummy up more than others

Leave a Reply

