Baby Loss Awareness

26 Oct

I am not sure how many of you will be aware (probably more than I think actually), but on the 15th October 2011 it was Baby Loss Awareness day. I wanted to post at the time, but could not find the words if I am totally honest. So here is my post, a little later than anticipated but here it is all the same.

I am lucky to have two beautiful babies, I had traumatic labours both times but I am blessed that they are both safe and well. Until recently I really could not believe that still births happened, it was something that happens on the telly or you read about in magazines and it was totally unimaginable, but I never imagined it could actually happen to someone I know. It seemed such an awful thing that it couldn’t really happen to people could it??

This all changed for me recently when my very good friend gave birth to her beautiful sleeping baby girl at 25 weeks. I couldn’t believe it, I knew there were complications but this was totally devastating. What my friend went through was horrific; no parent should ever have to suffer like that. Visiting her afterwards was one of the hardest things I have ever done, I didn’t know what I was going to say or do. I soon realised that there was nothing I could say or do, I could just be there. It broke my heart watching her cry and hearing her talk about what she had been through. I wanted to make it all better for her and take away her pain, but I couldn’t.

Whilst my friend was in hospital I contacted a charity called Lisa’s Stars. I felt I wanted to do something, but had no idea what. I had come across the charity on Facebook. Here is a bit about this charity below taken from there website –

Lisa’s Stars was set up in the Autumn of 2010 to make a difference to those who are unfortunate enough to lose a child prematurely. Our Founder is a lady who has sadly experienced this and felt something was massively missing from the aftercare of those babies and their parents.

Lisa’s Stars initially started out as a way to support her local hospital, and her aim was to supply them with tiny blankets, hats and angelwraps so that any baby born too early would be kept warm and wrapped in love. Within 3 days of starting the group on facebook, Lisa’s Stars had a website, a forum to give support to families and nearly a thousand members, not to mention an army of ladies loving knitting and sewing a mountain of angel clothes.

We came to realise that the support for her vision and the need for an organisation like hers extended far beyond the need for blankets and hats, and needed to reach more than just the local hospital.

Our aim is to not only supply her local hospital with our knitwear but to spread them to as many hospitals as we can. Our dream is to create memory boxes for those babys and their families so they have their treasured babys keepsakes to keep for all time.

I contacted them, and within a matter of days I had a little parcel of beautiful hand knitted clothing, blankets and a little bear for my friends little girl. I was amazed at how tiny they were, they would have not even fitted one of Molly’s dolls. The ladies at the charity were amazing, so helpful and friendly, they made sure that they got something to me as soon as they possibly could and the admin has even contacted me since to check how my friend is doing and offer her support if she needs it.

The work these ladies do is amazing and I wanted to highlight them and their wonderful work. No parents should ever have to go through this, but unfortunately it does happen and a lot more often that I would have ever dared to imagine. Please if you can take a moment to take a look at there Facebook page, and the website, if you can knit or sew or support in any way please do. It is such a fantastic charity.

My heart goes out to all the Mums and Dads who have had their little precious angels taken from them.

4 Responses to “Baby Loss Awareness”

  1. emmysmummy October 26, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Lovely post.

    I’ve known Lisa through her 3 sad losses through different forums, she has a heart of gold and is doing an amazing thing for others.

    My mum is even knitting for the charity.

    Huge hugs to your friend and I’m so glad you found Lisa’s stars.

  2. Expat Mammy October 26, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Lovely post recently a friend went through this at 26weeks, we lit a candle on our blog, it’s so sad.x

  3. pinkoddy October 27, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    I am sorry to hear of your friend’s loss but very glad that she has such a good friend in you.

  4. older mum October 31, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    This is a beautiful post. Sounds like you are a wonderful friend to your friend who has gone through something that is indescribable – totally horrific. The charity sounds like it offers fantastic support.

Leave a Reply

