Dear so and so…

14 Oct

My first attempt at this…….we shall see how it goes! 🙂 I hope you enjoy!

Dear housework fairies,

I know it is a HUGE ask, but will you please please please come and clean my house for me? I have cobwebs on my cobwebs and my kitchen floor is quite frankly a health hazard. It is in the interest of my children’s safety that you visit immediately.

I will be forever grateful!

Lots of love

The Frustrated Cleaning freak with no time to actually do any

Dear Alfie my gorgeous and amazing son,

Please can you sleep in a little bit longer than 5 am. You see Mummy has to work, and in order to spend time with you and your sister in the day I am often burning the midnight oi l working till silly o’clock. So when you wake at 5am, I am exhausted and yes I admit very grumpy. If you could just go back to sleeping until 7 am (or possible a little later if it is not too much trouble) I would be very grateful!

Mummy love s you to the moon and back,

Mummy xx

Dear Molly,

WHY WILL YOU NOT SLEEP THROUGH THE NIGHT????? Sorry didn’t mean to shout, but you have managed it since 16 months old, so why all of a sudden is it so hard to do? I know you have dropped your afternoon nap recently, and Mummy is putting you to bed a little earlier to compensate for that, but that does not mean you can be up and down all night to visit me and Daddy. As much as I love cuddling up with you, that bed is mine and Daddy’s and yours is in your room.

Really would appreciate it if you could stay there!!

Thanks ever so much baby girl!

Love you to the moon and back

Mummy

Dear Husband

I know things are a bit mad at the moment, I can’t remember the last time we actually had a proper conversation, and I really am sorry for this! Things are so hectic, 2 babies, you working silly hours and me trying fit in working around you and the kids leaves me NO time at all. I don’t mean to totally ignore you most evenings, but my head is so full of lists at the moment of things that need doing that most of the time I can’t remember my name let alone be able to hold an adult conversation. I will let you into a little secret – working with two babies is hard!!

Please know that I do love you more than anything and promise to make more of an effort not to grunt at you like a hormonal teenager and actually listen AND answer with a proper sentence when you talk to me.

All my love now and forever,

Your wife

Dear Crazy list writing stressed out women (AKA me)

I know there is a lot going on at the moment, trying to juggle singing, working, blogging, and 2 babies. I know that you have a lot to organise with all three children’s birthdays coming up and Christmas to deal with (which of course HAS to be perfect and EVERYTHING must be home made, Nigella has nothing on you my love!) All of this of course is amongst the various family birthdays that are this time of year (why was EVERYONE born after September? That was NOT good planning). But please slow down a little bit. A stressed out you is not a good look and will make you age prematurely……(ok so I made that bit up but drastic measures are needed here). Please try to get a couple of early nights in each week, with Molly not sleeping and Alfie up at silly o’clock you really need it.

All my love

Me

P.S I know you will not listen to a word I have just written but at least I tried!

P.P.S STOP writing the damned lists all the time……seeing how much you actually have to do stresses you out even more!! Will you not EVER learn?

Dear So and So...

11 Responses to “Dear so and so…”

  1. Elaine Livingstone October 14, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    brilliant love it. Now if you hit Alfie over the head hard with something at 10 to 5 he will sleep a bit longer,
    if you gaffer tape Molly to the bed by 2 hands AND 2 feet time she has escaped once she wont have time to come through to often in the night…oh and not forget the 5th important bit – over the mouth so she cant shout shes stuck
    hubby delegate him a list at night and then he wont have time to sit and talk to you so you wont feel neglectful
    and as for the rest…chill woman…as I found out when i tried to be superwoman all those years ago…i dont work and half of it is not important!!
    I realise this is a serious issue to you, but you gave me a chuckle and you will look back and laugh one day as well

    pps they get much much worse as they get older, wait till you have 3 hormonal grunting teenagers in the house….right time to leave before you shout at me

  2. Hannah-Leigh Brooker October 14, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    AH I can realate! Im a crazy list doer and it drives me mad seeinng how much I have to do and can make me a littel crazy! I can also sympathise with the sleeping. My daughter is nearly and still doesnt always sleep through the night which is a pain and my Alfie (good choice) he’s teething as well house of fun here! Nice post Ill be writing mine later so drop by if you fancy 🙂 Hannah

  3. Kat October 14, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Just a word of wisdom from a woman who has been up to here with responsibilities and kids…give hubby attention. I am just saying..just a moment. Just a glance. They appreciate those and will help you with some of the rest.

    Let’s not call it baiting…let’s just call it…ah hell it is baiting but it works. Cheers!

  4. emmysmummy October 17, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    Brilliant – witty, clever and made me chuckle

  5. older mum October 17, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Wow – you must be knackered – hope you get more sleep soon!

  6. Fiona (Mama's Little Baby Loves...) October 17, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Ohhh how this rings true, and so sweetly written! I have in the past been known to make lists of lists I need to make, and then panic that I spent so much time making lists I need to make a new list listing the lists in priority order because theres not enough time left to do everything on the list….

  7. almost bedtime October 17, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Loved your list. Made me chuckle and I totally empathise. Our two babies are up any time after 4.30 am and it sucks! But remember it’s just a phase. They’ll grow out of it.

  8. Bump Babbler October 17, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Great post! I so know what you mean, my littlest doesn’t sleep either and my house regularly looks like its been burgled…
    xx

  9. Joanne Blunt (@joanneblunt) October 19, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    Haha. Great post! I look forward to reading more.

  10. Natasha (@LoveInTheNest) October 21, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Ooooh I can relate to so many of those! What a great first entry to dear so and so 🙂 Looking forward to reading some more of your posts x

Leave a Reply

