Save the Children Campaign

19 Sep

This weekend in London Save the Children held a conference for Bloggers.  Unfortunately I was unable to attend, but following the conference I read a post over at Mummy From the Heart, and after reading this I knew I had to act.  I had to help.

All over the world thousands of babies are dying due to the lack of health workers.  Not everyone is lucky enough to have a health services that will treat them if they are sick.

On the 20th September 2011 a conference will take place and we need to petition to David Cameron to help stop children dying all over the world because of a lack of health workers. It only takes 30 seconds for you to act and help.

The idea is for 100 bloggers to write 100 words about a great health care professional that they have encountered in their life.

Now here is my 100 words ( I have little or no chance of sticking to 100 words though!!) :

I had a difficult labour with Molly, it resulted in an emergency c section.  I went to the consultant when I found out I was expecting again, and he agreed that I was able to try for a natural delivery.  Before I knew it I was 3 days overdue and my hopes of a natural delivery were fading fast.  The consultant booked me in for a c section the following week.  The day before my c section was due I went into labour.

My labour progressed very quickly and when my waters went I was fairly sure that I needed to get to hospital quick, things seemed to be happening very fast.  When I arrived at the hospital things seemed to be going well, I was placed on a monitor to check the baby was doing ok too.  This is where things started to go wrong.  Whilst on the monitor the babies heart rate dropped, well it actually disappeared.  I have never been so scared.  Slowly, very slowly the heart rate recovered, but only to about half the rate it had been at before, then it kept dropping.  By then I was getting strong urges by then to push.  The midwife told my husband to pull the emergency cord and the room filled with people.  I don’t really remember much after that if I am honest.  I came round a couple of hours later from a general anesthetic and another c section and was told I had a baby boy.  My little Alfie.

Later on, we were told that Alfie’s cord had prolapsed.  His heart rate was dropping because his oxygen was being cut off, the cord was wrapped around the top of his head.  We were so lucky.  The midwife that was looking after me acted quickly, the team that came to assist her were the most amazing people.  They saved my baby and delivered him safely.  I will always be grateful to them.  We were very lucky.  So many others are not.

No child should be born to die. Please take just 30 seconds to sign the petition and pass it onto your friends and family.

The rules of the linky say to pass this on to other bloggers that you know.  I am really new to blogging and don’t really know any other bloggers yet that I can pass this onto, but I ask any other bloggers that read this that have not taken part to please support this and write your 100 words.  Head over to Mummy from the Heart for all the details.

6 Responses to “Save the Children Campaign”

  1. Love In The Nest September 20, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Us mums are really very frtunate to have such wonderfully trained staff on hand to see us and our precisous babies through child birth safely aren’t we. I had difficult births too and am ever grateful to those health workers that my children and I are safe.
    Great post xx

    • thesingingmummy September 21, 2011 at 5:34 am #

      We are so lucky indeed! Thank you for your comment 🙂 xx

  2. helloitsgemma September 21, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Amazing how close you came to such a different outcome, thank goodness for great professionals and thank you so much for sharing X

  3. Chris Mosler September 23, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Another one which brought me out in goosebumps. Thank you so much for sharing your story and enabling me to shout loudly in New York for all the mothers and babies of the world.

    • thesingingmummy September 25, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

      Your very welcome. I am glad that I could do my bit to help such a worthy cause. x

Leave a Reply

