Work from home…..????? Yes please!!

18 Aug

Well what a week it has been!! This household has been manic (but that is nothing new!!) I have had Paul (my husband) at home ill all week, so with him to run after as well as the kids, I am exhausted!! Should have been rehearsing for a gig tonight, but Paul really not well enough to have the babies so am tucked up at home instead!

Despite all craziness, and illness that this week has brough with it, me and the babies are still having lots of fun, and to top it all off today was the first official day of my new job!! I am now officially employed again!!!

I have been offered a fantastic opportunity and the best bit is I will be working from home!!

I am going to be working for my Husbands ex-wife (Yes you did read that right – but we actually do get on really well!).  She recently set up a fantastic new website for parents, http://www.babyswaporshop.co.uk, this is a brilliant site for selling, swapping and buying maternity, baby and toddler items.  As well as buying and selling,  the website offers a forum for Mums and Dads to meet and discuss issues and lots of other great features, as well as some great competitions and some amazing products!  So I have happily accepted my new job and am now really excited about finally getting started and being involved in such a fantastic new company!!

After taking redundancy from  my previous job whilst on maternity leave with Alfie I just assumed I would look for something similar to what I was doing before, I had not really thought about working from home! With two young babies and a new job where my office is also my home, I am starting to wonder how, and if I will fit it all in? If any other Mum’s working from home are reading then some top tips would be very gratefully received!!

So I guess I should address the whole ex-wife situation (as I have to say most people say it is very odd when they see us together!!) My husband was married (and divorced) before we met, he has a son from his previous marriage who is now 14.  He is a fantastic lad and a credit to his parents.  Myself and Paul get on well with Liam’s Mum and her husband they recently came to Alfie’s Christening and not long after we were invited to celebrate their wedding! It is important to us all that we work together to support Liam and make sure that he is ok.

So here I am, 2 babies, 1 teenage step son, 1 husband, 1 new job, 1 new Mummy Blog, and singing in 2 bands!! Gosh, I am going to be one very busy Mummy!! I have a feeling that the next few months are going to be mad…….and I think I am going to love every minute!! 🙂

3 Responses to “Work from home…..????? Yes please!!”

  1. mymummylife August 18, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Ooh, all the best to you. I work from home with two children (five and three quarters, and six months). It can be a total nightmare at times, and I dream of having a clean and tidy house, but a job that fits in around the children is such a benefit. Just make sure you’re really disciplined about working (and not blogging or Facebooking) when you should, and you’ll be fine.

    • thesingingmummy August 18, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

      I may struggle with the not blogging when working part!! Writing blogs and reading other blogs is very addictive!! It really should come with a warning message!! Thank you for the advice!! 🙂

  2. nickimumof5 August 18, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    I am a stay at mum of 5 and my aim is to find a job or business I can do from home.I already have a blog which I started in May and am loving the opportunities it has given me already.Good luck with your new job and the blog.

Leave a Reply

