Has anyone seen my daughter???

10 Aug

I always lived in hope that the terrible twos did not actually exist……and hoped (actually assumed) that if they did exist that my child would not go through it!!  But they have arrived and at the moment I am totally tearing my hair out as each day goes on! 😦

If one more person tells me “it’s just a phase” I think I will scream – is that supposed to make it better or easier? How long exactly is a phase supposed to last? Everyone claims that “They all go through it” as there toddlers sit/stand perfectly well-behaved as I am trying to contain a hysterical two-year old and juggle Alfie too!!

I don’t know what has happened to her.  She is usually such a good girl in the main, but at the moment at home she is a nightmare.  Constantly doing things that she knows she shouldn’t.  Pushing her baby brother over claiming that she is “giving him a cuddle” refusing to let me brush her hair/teeth/wash her face! No more nice lazy mornings anymore, Molly now wakes everyday between 5.30 am and 6 am – up untill a few weeks ago she slept till 8am every day! So from 5.30 am onwards we are in a battle ground.  If she is not pushing her brother over several times she is running off with his dummy or hitting him on the head with any object she can find.  Ask her to do something and she yells at you – and it is generally with “No I won’t! “

I actually feel like a voice recording of me saying “No” every few minutes might be more effective, she doesn’t actually listen to me so I may as well just not be here!!

Combine this terrible two’s with Alfie realising his new-found crawling/cruising skills can cause utter mayhem.  What is it about ornaments that he finds so fascinating? In less than 2 weeks he has broken 2 photo frames on my fireplace!! The boy is  menace!! The time I feel may be coming where everything needs to go up a level – something I never had to do with Molly, she had toys and she played with them! Alfie has toys too, however he chooses to play with the ornaments and coal from the fireplace – they are much more fun! Oh boy can that baby move fast, I turn my back for a second and he is up to no good!!

So I am off now for another day of battling through this “phase” that is known as the Terrible Two’s whilst trying to protect anything breakable in my house from the utter destruction that is also known as Alfie.

If anyone does happen to see the gorgeous little girl who was kind, loving and generally well-behaved and utterly scrummy please can you send her home, I am missing her very very much, in the meantime though, anyone got Supernanny’s Number I think I need it!??

11 Responses to “Has anyone seen my daughter???”

  1. Colette August 10, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    You have my sympathies.
    My Dad always said that with children you need love and patience. The love is to get you through the patience bit. I know you are fed up of hearing it but it WILL pass. Believe me as a mother of a 4 year old and a 3 year old. She is just testing the boundaries and a few trips to the naughty step and taking away her treats will stick in her memory. good luck and well done on the blog

    • thesingingmummy August 12, 2011 at 6:55 am #

      Thank you!! Hopefully she will snap out of it soon enough! Glad you like the blog! 🙂 x

  2. Celia August 10, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    If you find your little girl, can you get her to send my lovely little boy back too? We seem to have hit the terrible twos 8 months early here!!x

    • thesingingmummy August 12, 2011 at 6:55 am #

      Of course I can! Glad to hear I am not on my own with all of this! Is hard going! xxxx

  3. louise August 13, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    i know im suppose to make you feel better but ive got some bad new’s, brace yourself because 3’s and 4’s are worse!!!!!!! i struggled immensely with just the one child at that time………………….good luck, im hoping she gets better for you and doesnt follow in my daughters footsteps x

  4. Elaine Livingstone October 10, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    well in reply to Louise if you think 3 and 4 is mad heaven help you when you get to 13 and 14. Im sorry to be miss doom and gloom but the easiest 9 months passed the day you gave birth to them!!
    Any helpful advice from somebody who had 5 and now on the next generation I hear you ask? well yes give them up for adoption now whilst they are young enough for a loving family to want them!!!!
    OK being serious I agree with Colette, let them know their boundaries and be consistent on what you think is worth disciplining. If she is doing say 6 things you think she shouldnt pick which are most important and discipline on them EVERY time, and let the others go. Then praise praise praise when she does it right or does something you ask her….I have always felt it is the behaviour that is naughty not the child, and that positive reinforcement works better than negative.
    Good luck, and as for beating up on little brother how would you feel if hubby came home with wife 2 – wouldnt you want to scratch her eyes out?? It will toughen him and and one day he will clatter her back!

    • thesingingmummy October 11, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

      Thanks for your comment!! He is tough alright, he is already starting to bite back at her when she takes toys off him! It is quite amusing to watch, as his scream is so earth shattering now when she removes the item from his hands that she just puts it straight back! Ha!! I am so sure that being consistent with the bad and praising the good is the key but does it have to be do damned hard?!! 🙂 x
      I am not looking forward to the teenage years! My stepson is 15 next week and just grunts at everything, in fact I would go as far as to say that the only words he can actually say are…….’I’m hungry!!’ Ha! xx

  5. Rebecca English October 10, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    It’s just a phase!

    Hahaha only joking! One of my twins is going through it and she’s only 16 months – she knows what she wants and has a proper tantrum if she doesn’t get it. It’s so easy to give in to her when you’re really busy and just want 5 minutes peace. I know that’ll be worse in the long run. The other twin is the same with making a mess – just pulls everything off the shelves constantly.

    On a happier note my oldest is called Molly too. Great name!

    • thesingingmummy October 11, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

      Ha!!1 My son is a nightmare for pulling things off the shelves…..if I am not tidying up after him then Molly is kicking off over something! Oh the joys! Ha!!! Molly is a fab name! Good choice! 🙂 x

  6. minibreakmummy October 11, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Hi there. I discovered this post through Love New Blogs. I have no advice to offer, just sympathy.

    My bonkers boy (now 3) is definitely more fun to be with now he can explain what he wants. That doesn’t mean we’re completely free of tantrums and meltdowns but the severity and frequency seems to have reduced to a more tolerable level.

    • thesingingmummy October 11, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

      Thank you for your comment!! I am hoping as she gets older she will get better! If not I am in BIG trouble! Ha! x

Leave a Reply

